Posted in Uncategorized

A Mother Without A Kid

I have always been close with my Maasi. Maybe even more so than my mother. My mother might have been the one to give birth to me, the one who had me in her womb for 9 months, but I have always considered my Maasi as a second mother. And she has always loved me even more than her own flesh and bones kids. She often says that I’m her first daughter. And now I understand things from her perspective.

My sister-cum-best friend gave birth to a baby girl last year, and that little girl has taken over my heart ever since. I don’t have any kids of my own, I’m not a mother. But ever since I have looked into the eyes of my baby girl, every maternal instinct i have ever had, has kicked into over drive. She has me wrapped around her little finger and she isn’t even 1 yet. I don’t know where these maternal instincts came from, but honest to God, if I have to, I will burn this world down for her.

My sister and I have always been thick a thieves. She understood me and believed in my when no one else did. I was quite jealous when she got married, because i have had to share her with other people ever since. I never thought that I will love someone more than her. She’s my weakness and my strength. But now? I will literally throw her under the bus and use her as a shield to protect my baby girl, if that’s what it took.

I hope that I can be a good role model for her. That she can look up to me as a mentor. That maybe we will be as close as my Maasi and I are. That when she grows up, she looks at me as a second mother. Because I may not have given birth to her, but she is just as much my daughter as she is my sister’s.

Author:

I'm curious by nature. "Curiosity kills the cat" was written with me in mind. (History buffs knows that's not true). I'm a helper, I want to help people however and whenever I can. I love reading. Any kind of book I can get my hands on. I'm a nerd, a geek, a fangirl, a fanatic and sometimes a freak too. I'm emotional at heart but I don't like to show it. Spread positivity and love all around guys.. !! #WomenRightsAreHumanRights

Leave a Reply

